You’re Going to Die Today

Are you scared? Why? Have you not lived enough? Have you not loved enough? There is nothing to be afraid of. Death is nothing to be afraid of. If you have lived and you have loved, you have had a full life.

You will die, it is inevitable. What you do in the meantime is up to you. This is the message of Santísima Muerte. It is the choice of the individual what they will do with their time in this world. Will they choose to spread poison, and tear down those around them? Will they choose to spread love, and heal those around them? No one can tell you what to do, but if you were to die this day – would you be okay with what you’ve been doing with your time here?

Santa Muerte says that we will die, but “today” could very well last 50 of our years. I know that if today truly were my last, while I wouldn’t be scared, I would feel incomplete. I have made poor choices. I have lived awful experiences. And I don’t think that I’ve spread enough love in my time. All of those mornings that I left my child without reminding him that I loved him, simply because he pissed me off. All of those arguments I’ve had with people, simply because they weren’t in alignment with my beliefs – or that were over trivial things. All of those little things where I chose to fester in anger and keep the love to myself.

My love is my power. I can share it with whomever I wish. I choose to share it with those around me. My sisters – in circle and without, my family – chosen and blood alike, and anyone else who I may come across. This doesn’t mean that I have to be in a place of love all of the time, simply that I’m moving forward consciously.

At the end of the day, it doesn’t matter what clothes you wear, or what shoes you have, or if your hair is a “natural” tone. If you want to live life in yoga pants, flip flops, while sporting blue hair – do it! If you enjoy business suits and fancy shoes, then wear those. It doesn’t matter what anyone else thinks of you, it only matters what you think of you. I truly believe that living in a space of love and compassion will help with our self-perception.

When your time comes to pass on from this world, what will you regret? Will it be that you worked too hard, that you walked away from that which brings you happiness, or will it be that you weren’t true to yourself? Here a woman outlines the top 5 deathbed regrets.

During Samhain, the third and final harvest of the year, many begin to think of death, and the ancestors. In culture, after culture, there is festival, after festival, after festival for the very purpose of honoring those who have passed. Death is nothing to be afraid of. What makes the whole thing fearful is that we aren’t truly living, and we don’t want our time to end before we get the chance.